License to Carry (LTC)

License to Carry (LTC) 

New Applicants

Prior to applying for this license, you must have completed a Massachusetts Certified Basic Firearms Safety Class or Hunter Safety Course. Active-Duty members of the US Military are not required to take a Basic Firearms Safety Course. To qualify for this exemption, you must present your valid US Military identification card at the time of application.

You must be age 21 or older to apply and must submit the following:

  1. Your completed LTC application (the form link is on this website and a hard copy can be picked up at the station)
  2. Massachusetts driver’s license with a Westford address or proof of business ownership in Westford
  3. Your firearms safety course certificate (Unless exempted)
  4. Cash or a check for $100 payable to the “Town of Westford”
  5. If you are a naturalized US Citizen, you will need to provide a copy or your naturalization certificate or a copy of your valid US passport.
  6. If you are a Green Card holder you will need to provide a copy of your card along with your application.


Renewal Applicants 

If you have a License to Carry Firearms (LTC) and you need to renew you will need to provide the following:

  1. Your current LTC or FID number (in the space on the application form)
  2. Completed renewal application (the form is posted on our website)
  3. Your Massachusetts driver’s license number with a Westford address or proof of business ownership in Westford
  4. $100 cash or check made out to the Town of Westford (Fee note: if you are applying for a renewal and you are over 70 years of age there is no charge for the renewal. There is no fee charged if your license is expiring on your 70th birthday)


Please refer to Mass General Law Chapter 140 Section 131 for restrictions and prohibitions. (link)